On Saturday, December 16, from 1 to 3 p.m., the Estero Island Historical Society will celebrate their upgraded deck, grounds and in-process interior restoration of the historic 1921 “We’re Still Here” cottage.
The sturdy little building survived 6 feet of interior storm surge thanks to its construction of yellow piece and cedar. The Annex will be restored in the coming years.
The December 16 Open House — A Celebration of Lost Icons — will commemorate the life of founding EIHS Board member and longtime Curator, AJ Bassett.
EIHS President Ellie Bunting’s book Lost Icons of Fort Myers Beach will also be launched. Bunting’s book was meticulously researched, filled with fascinating anecdotes and many historic photos. All profits will support the restoration of the EIHS.