Sanibel Picks New Mayor Today


With the retirement of Mick Denham, who took over for Lee County Board Chair Kevin Ruane, the Sanibel City Council will appoint a new Mayor Tuesday during an organizational meeting.

At that meeting, three new council members will also be sworn in after winning election to the council this week. Mike Miller, John Henshaw and Dr. Scott Crater were the top three vote getters in the election two weeks ago.

Once the new members are sworn in they will choose a Mayor.

Holly Smith has been serving as Vice Mayor under Denam and is the favorite to be appointed by her colleagues.