Taste of the Islands Winners Announced


The Clinic for the Rehabilitation of Wildlife (CROW) announced the winners of the 39th Taste of the Islands. This year’s “Reimagined” event featured 31 restaurants from Sanibel and Captiva that diners visited throughout the month of November.

Local judges Harold Balink, Gina Birch, Karen Feldman, Jarred Harris, Gloria Jordan, Norman Love, Patrick Nolan, and Geoff and Robbie Roepstorff along with surprise celebrity guest judge Keegen Gerhard of Food Network rated the restaurants’ offerings in a variety of categories while Passport holders voted for the ‘People’s Choice’ award sponsored by Rosier Insurance.

Here are all the winners…
Best Appetizer: Thistle Lodge Beachfront Restaurant – Lime Zest and Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Best Meat: The Timbers Restaurant & Fish Market – Lamb Lollipops
Best Seafood: Old Captiva House – Cioppino
Best Vegetarian: Sanibel Fresh – Vegetarian Burger
Best Dessert: Spoondrift Islands Bowls – Coconut Tres Leche Cake
Best Adult Beverage (tie): Doc Ford’s – Toasted Coconut Colada AND Tipsy Turtle Restaurant & Bar – Shellshock Punch
Taste of Taste: Old Captiva House – Cioppino
People’s Choice: MudBugs Cajun Kitchen

Check out a video of all the winners HERE.

“We really wanted Taste to be successful for both CROW and our restaurant partners and I think we can say it has been.”, says Alison Charney Hussey, Executive Director for CROW. “It took a little getting used to the new format but I think the community really embraced it and enjoyed exploring the restaurants throughout the month. We are so blessed to have the support of such amazing sponsors, restaurants and patrons!”